Blue Bombers to face Tiger-Cats in 108th Grey Cup CFL Final game

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers and the hometown Hamilton Tiger-Cats are set to compete in the 108th Grey Cup in a rematch of the 2019 championship. The host team has not made the Grey Cup since 2013. This marks the tenth time in the history of Canadian Football that the modern-day incarnations of the two clubs have played for the iconic trophy after having met in 1953, 1957-59, 1961-62, 1965, 1984 and 2019.

108th GREY CUP

Winnipeg Blue Bombers vs. Hamilton Tiger-Cats
Sunday Dec. 12 at 6 p.m. ET

Tiger Cats vs Blue Bombers

Andrew Harris ran for 136 yards and one touchdown as the Winnipeg Blue Bombers overcame six turnovers in a 21-17 victory over the Saskatchewan Roughriders in the West Division final on Sunday.

The result set up a Grey Cup rematch next weekend in Hamilton. The defending Grey Cup champion Blue Bombers will face the Tiger-Cats at Tim Hortons Field after Hamilton beat Toronto 27-19 in the East final.

Harris, playing his first game since Oct. 15 because of an injured knee, had 23 carries and a three-yard TD run in front of 31,160 fans at IG Field, who braved on-and-off snow, gusty winds and a wind chill that made it feel like minus-20 C.

Winnipeg ended a 28-season CFL title drought by defeating Hamilton 33-12 in the 2019 championship game. The 2021 Grey Cup wasn’t held due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Bombers finished first in the West Division this season and earned a bye into the final after putting up an 11-3 record in a shortened 14-game campaign. Saskatchewan went 9-5 and beat the Calgary Stampeders 33-30 in overtime in the semifinal.

Winnipeg also got touchdowns Sunday from receiver Rasheed Bailey and backup quarterback Sean McGuire on a sneak. Kicker Sergio Castillo made all three converts.

William Powell had a one-yard touchdown run for Saskatchewan and Duke Williams pulled in a pass for a 67-yard catch-and-run TD. Brett Lauther was good on two converts, booted a 16-yard field goal and missed an attempt from 36 yards out.

Bombers quarterback Zach Collaros, the West Division nominee for most outstanding player, completed 17 of 21 pass attempts for 229 yards with one TD and three interceptions.

Cody Fajardo was 19-of-27 passing for 265 yards and one TD for the visitors.

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers own an 11-14 (.440) record in the Grey Cup.

• The Winnipeg Blue Bombers own an 11-14 (.440) record in the Grey Cup. Their most recent appearance in the championship game came in 2019 at the 107th Grey Cup, where they defeated the Hamilton Tiger-Cats 33-12. With this Grey Cup appearance, Winnipeg will surpass Edmonton for the most all-time.
• The Hamilton Tiger-Cats are 8-13 (.381) in the Grey Cup. They last won the Grey Cup in 1999 by a score of 32-21 over Calgary.
• This is the first Grey Cup rematch since Montreal and Saskatchewan played in 2009 and 2010, with the Alouettes claiming both victories. The last time that two teams met back-to-back and split the contests was 2002-2003 with Montreal and Edmonton.
• Hamilton owns the longest championship drought with their last Grey Cup win coming in 1999.
• Since 1980, this will be the third time that the same two coaches have met in consecutive Grey Cup games.
• Teams from Hamilton and Winnipeg have met in the championship game 11 times, including their past incarnations as the Tigers and ‘Pegs in 1935, and as military service teams in 1943. They have met nine times as their modern-day incarnations.
– 1935 (Winnipeg won 18-12)
– 1943 (Hamilton won 23-14)
– 1953 (Hamilton won 12-6)
– 1957 (Hamilton won 32-7)
– 1958 (Winnipeg won 35-28)
– 1959 (Winnipeg won 21-7)
– 1961 (Winnipeg won 21-14)
– 1962 (Winnipeg won 28-27)
– 1965 (Hamilton won 22-16)
– 1984 (Winnipeg won 47-17)
– 2019 (Winnipeg won 33-12)


Leave a Comment